» » Maynard Ferguson - Conquistador

Maynard Ferguson - Conquistador

Maynard Ferguson - Conquistador Performer: Maynard Ferguson
Album: Conquistador
Country: US
Released: 1977
Style: Fusion, Jazz-Funk
Size MP3: 1118 mb.
Size FLAC: 1984 mb.
Size WMA: 1815 mb.
Rating: 4.3/5
Votes: 268

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Gonna Fly Now (Theme From "Rocky")
Written-By – A. Robbins*, B. Conti*, C. Connors*
A2 Mister Mellow
Written-By – J. Chattaway*, M. Ferguson*
A3 Theme From Star Trek
Written-By – A. Courage*, G. Roddenberry*
B1 Conquistador
Written-By – J. Chattaway*, M. Ferguson*
B2 Soar Like An Eagle
Written-By – B. James*
B3 The Fly
Written-By – J. Chattaway*


  • Alto Saxophone – George Young , Mike Migliore
  • Arranged By – Bob James (tracks: B2), Jay Chattaway (tracks: A1 to B1, B3)
  • Baritone Saxophone – Bobby Militello
  • Bass – Gary King, Gordon Johnson, Will Lee
  • Drums – Allan Schwartzberg, Harvey Mason, Peter Erskine
  • Engineer – Joe Jorgensen
  • Flugelhorn, Soloist – Maynard Ferguson (tracks: A2)
  • Flute, Soloist – Bobby Militello (tracks: A3)
  • French Horn – Brooks Tillotson, Donald Corrado
  • Guitar – Eric Gale, George Benson, Jeff Layton, Lance Quinn
  • Guitar, Soloist – George Benson (tracks: A2), Jeff Layton (tracks: A1)
  • Keyboards – Biff Hannon, Bob James, Kenny Ascher*
  • Mastered By – Vladimir Meller*
  • Other [Sound] – Tony Romano
  • Percussion – Ralph MacDonald
  • Percussion [Parade Drum] – Phil Kraus
  • Piano, Soloist – Bob James (tracks: B2)
  • Producer – Jay Chattaway
  • Soprano Saxophone – Mark Colby, Mike Migliore
  • Soprano Saxophone, Soloist – Mike Migliore (tracks: B3)
  • Strings – Alan Shulman, Albert Scheonmaker, Alfred Brown, Charles Libove, Charles McCracken, David Nadien, Emanuel Vardi, Eugene Noye, Harold Kohon, Harry Cykman, Harry Lookofsky, Marvin Morgenstern, Matthew Raimondi, Max Ellen, Max Pollikoff, Paul Gershman, Richard Sortomme
  • Tenor Saxophone – Joe Farrell, Mark Colby
  • Tenor Saxophone, Soloist – Mark Colby (tracks: B2), Stan Mark (tracks: B1)
  • Trombone – Dave Taylor*, Julian Priester, Paul Faulise, Randy Purcell, Roger Homefield, Wayne Andre
  • Trumpet – Alan Rubin, Bernie Glow, Dennis Noday, Jim Bossy, Guiseppe Loon P. Mosello*, Jon Faddis, Marky Markowitz, Marvin Stamm, Randy Brecker, Ron Tooley, Stan Mark
  • Trumpet [Calls] – Dennis Noday (tracks: B1), Joe Mosello (tracks: B1), Ron Tooley (tracks: B1), Stan Mark (tracks: B1)
  • Trumpet, Soloist – Maynard Ferguson (tracks: A1, A3 to B3)
  • Vocals – Ellen Bernfeld, Gwen Guthrie, Lani Groves, Linda November, Martin Nelson, Patti Austin, Richard Berg , Vivian Cherry


Mastered at CBS, N.Y. CBS Studios.
Recorded at Media Sound, NYC.
CBS Studios, San Francisco, Ca.
Wally Heider Studios, San Francisco, Ca.

Durations are from label. Different durations appear on the back coversleeve:
A1 4:18
A2 6:27
A3 6:17
B1 7:34
B2 6:33
B3 4:30

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout (Matrix Side A): AL 34457
  • Matrix / Runout (Matrix Side B): BL 34457

Other versions

Category Artist Title (Format) Label Category Country Year
PC 34457, 34457 Maynard Ferguson Conquistador ‎(LP, Album) Columbia, Columbia PC 34457, 34457 US 1977
88697694542 Maynard Ferguson Conquistador ‎(CD, Album, RE, RM) Columbia, Legacy 88697694542 Europe 2010
CK 34457 Maynard Ferguson Conquistador ‎(CD, Album) Columbia CK 34457 Japan Unknown
CBS 81839 Maynard Ferguson Conquistador ‎(LP, Album) CBS CBS 81839 Italy 1977
PCQ 34457 Maynard Ferguson Conquistador ‎(LP, Album, Quad) Columbia PCQ 34457 US 1977

The correct durations of this promo release are on back cover...listening to the songs you clearly understand that the durations written on the label are all wrong!sure at 100%